The opening of the second edition of the FIA ​​World Rallycross was held today at the Circuit de Barcelona – Catalunya, ​​where we have known the pilots and official teams which will be taking part in the Championship 2015. Barcelona will also host the 10th round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship on 19 and 20 September.

More than 200 national and international media have witnessed throughout the day the presentation of the FIA World Rallycross Championship which has been held at the Circuit de Barcelona – Catalunya, home to house the BarcelonaRX in September. The Media Day has served to publicize the names of the 18 drivers who will participate permanently in the 13 rounds of the World Championship and their respective teams, a total of eight, as well as some of the cars.

Petter Solberg and Liam Doran, new teammates

Reigning FIA World Rallycross Championship, Petter Solberg, has confirmed in this Media Day that he is joining the  X-Games star Liam Doran to form a team. Both drivers have revealed their new cars, Citroen DS3 Supercar for the season in a show presented by Monster in the Pit-Lane of the Circuit de Barcelona – Catalunya. Both form the SDRX team will compete for the ambition of reaching the world title this season.

Petter Solberg: “Does the nº 1 gives extra pressure? The truth is that since many years ago I’ve bee competing under pressure. We have worked hard and although there is a great level we expect to do well. ”

The BarcelonaRX, brings to the city a great show

Barcelona will be in the spotlight over the weekend of 19 to 20 September with the organization of BarcelonaRX. For the first time ever comes a World  Rallycross race  to Spain and it will  be in the best possible conditions. IMG as an international promoter, Monster their main sponsor, excellent facilities at the Circuit de Barcelona – Catalunya with the support of Barcelona City Council, the RACC and local promoters and Seven and Mila Events.

Experience codriving at the Circuit de Catalunya Barcelona

To finish the Media Day, some of the attendees were able to enjoy firsthand the fantastic feelings that live inside a rallycross car. Four cars have come to Estadi area of ​​the Circuit de Barcelona – Catalunya to show the power and speed of these vehicles. Getting off the cars, all participants showed some faces expressing themselves why rallycross is a unique and vibrant sport.


2015 World RX Permanent Teams & Drivers

SDRX: Petter Solberg (Norway)

SDRX: Liam Doran (UK)

Ford Olsbergs MSE: Reinis Nitiss (Latvia)

Ford Olsbergs MSE: Andreas Bakkerud (Norway)

Marklund Motorsport: Topi Heikkinen (Finland)

Marklund Motorsport: PG Andersson (Sweden)

Team Peugeot-Hansen: Timmy Hansen (Sweden)

Team Peugeot-Hansen: Davy Jeanney (France)

Volkswagen Team Sweden: Johan Kristofferson (Sweden)

Volkswagen Team Sweden: Tord Linnerud (Norway)

EKS: Mattias Ekstrom (Sweden)

EKS: Anton Marklund (Sweden)

EKS: Edward Sandstrom (Sweden)

ALL-INKL.COM Muennich Motorsport: Rene Muennich (Germany)

ALL-INKL.COM Muennich Motorsport: Alx Danielsson (Sweden)

World RX Team Austria: Manfred Stohl (Austria)

World RX Team Austria: Max Pucher (Austria)

Permanent individual entries: Timur Timerzyanov & Robin Larsson