The FIA World Rallycross Championship presented by Monster Energy will embark on the season’s second half later this week following a month-long summer break. World RX of Canada (5-7 August) forms the seventh round of the World Championship and marks the first flyaway event of 2016.  A host of 600bhp World RX Supercars will start the event, with a further eight RX Lites cars entered in the standalone RX Lites Intercontinental Cup.

For the third year in a row, World RX joins the Grand Prix of Trois-Rivieres (GP3R), now in its 47th year, event for a week-long motorsport extravaganza.

Leading the World RX driver standings going into Canada is EKS driver Mattias Ekstrom who won three out of six events in the season’s first half.  Ekstrom is five points ahead of reigning Champion Petter Solberg who won the Canadian leg two years ago. Last year’s event was won by Frenchman Davy Jeanney.
Hot on the heels of both Ekstrom and Solberg is Hoonigan Racing Division driver Andreas Bakkerud who has moved up to third in the overall standings following back-to-back victories in Norway and Sweden.  Bakkerud will be joined by America’s Ken Block in the team’s second Ford Focus RS Supercar.

Other front-runners competing in Canada include Team Peugeot-Hansen’s Timmy Hansen who has been mountain bike training with the Swedish National Team during the mid-season break.Hansen’s team-mate Sebastien Loeb will compete at Trois-Rivieres for the first time.  The Frenchman has had an impressive first half to the season, having finished on the podium twice and holding fourth overall in the points. Since the previous World RX round, Loeb has been in Asia competing on the Silk Way Rally where he was in contention for the win until a four-hour penalty hindered his progress.

The standalone RX Lites Intercontinental Cup supports the World RX event in Canada. The 2015 winner Oliver Eriksson will return in a bid to retain his crown, as will home driver Andrew Ranger, who scored a podium finish on his debut last year. Ranger is the only Canadian driver competing on home soil and will be a firm favourite with the home fans.

Another former RX Lites Cup winner, America’s Mitchell DeJong will also return to the series. Finland’s Miki Weckstrom, Sweden’s Sandra Hultgren and America’s Cole Keatts will also race in Canada. Dirtfish Motorsports will run a car for Connor Martell and Saeed Bintouq will travel from the UAE for the event.

You can watch all the rallycross action on sunday 7 august from 20 to 22pm at the catalan television channel Esport3.

Public Timetable

Friday 5 August
1500 Press conference: Ken Block, Mattias Ekstrom, Reinis Nitiss, Niclas Gronholm and Andrew Ranger
1730 Racecars depart circuit for parade in downtown Trois-Rivieres
1810 Draw for Q1grid positions

Saturday 6 August
0900 Practice: World RX and RX Lites
1100 Practice: World RX and RX Lites
1230 Formula Drift Canada
1400 Qualifying 1 (Q1): World RX and RX Lites
1445 Qualifying CURC
1510 AMA Supermoto Qualifying
1540 Formula Drift Canada
1615 Qualifying 2 (Q2): World RX and RX Lites
1700 Qualifying CURC
1715 AMA Supermoto finals
1800 Formula Drift Canada

Sunday 7 August
0825 Warm-up: World RX and RX Lites
0930 Qualifying 3 (Q3): World RX and RX Lites
1010 Supermoto warm-up
1100 Formula Drift Canada
1130 Qualifying 4 (Q4): World RX and RX Lites
1215 Qualifying CURC
1230 Semi-final: RX Lites
1340 Qualifying AMA Supermoto
1415 Formula Drift Canada
1450 World RX driver introductions
1500 World RX semi-finals
RX Lites final
World RX final
World RX podium
1600 CURC semi-finals
1625 AMA Supermoto finals
1715 CURC final
1740 Formula Drift Canada final

Final Drivers List:

WorldRX Supercar:

image (2)

RX Lites: 

image (3)