The entry list for the opening round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship in Barcelona, that will take place in just over two weeks’ time (March 31 – April 2), has been revealed by the FIA. 

21 drivers will race in the first round of World RX, with the 18 permanent entries led by reigning champion Mattias Ekstrom. The Swede won in Barcelona last season at the wheel of his EKS Audi S1. The only other driver to have won at the Catalan Formula 1 venue in World RX history is double champion Petter Solberg, who will debut the new PSRX Volkswagen Sweden Polo GTi at the event.

France’s Guerlain Chicherit will make his first of six appearances in a Renault Clio Supercar as he prepares for the 2018 season in a Prodrive-built Renault Megane Supercar, and France’s Herve Knapick will race a Citroen DS3. Belgium’s Gergoire Demoustier will make his rallycross debut at the wheel of a DA Racing-Europacar Peugeot 208 WRX, his first of five events with the team this season.

The Barcelona circuit will also host the opening round of the FIA European Rallycross Championship, where the 29 permanent drivers will be joined on the grid by Norway’s Henning Solberg, racing an Eklund Motorsport Volkswagen Beetle. Reigning French Rallycross Champion, Firmin Cadeddu, will race his Citroen C4 Supercar in the event, while his compatriot, Philippe Maloigne, will drive an Albatec Racing Peugeot 208 alongside the team’s regular Euro RX drivers Tommy Rustad and Jere Kalliokoski.

Euro RX TouringCar category competitors will also begin their season in Barcelona, in which reigning champion Ben-Philip Gundersen will lead the 11-car field.

WorldRX Supercar entries: 2017 Entry list (WorldRX)_Barcelona (ESP)

Lista EuroRX & Touring Car entries: 2017 Entry list (EuroRX)_Barcelona (ESP)