Know the pilots who will be in the seventh edition of the Catalunya RX
  • 34 international drivers will be on the starting grid of the World RX and Euro RX3 events at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya
  • 16 nationalities, nine motorsport brands and 12 car models represented in both competitions
  • Coming soon, the RX2e and Car Cross drivers

The list of drivers entered for the 2021 Fia World Rallycross Championship has already been revealed, with 17-car grills in both World RX and Euro RX3. The drivers will participate in the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya on Friday 23 and Saturday 24 July, the perfect setting for a sensational weekend in Spain with the best motor racing.

The drivers will represent up to 16 different nationalities between the two categories, as well as nine car brands, including industry giants such as Ford, Volkswagen and Renault, and 12 different car models. Furthermore, a mixture of youth and experience characterizes both competitions.

On the one hand, both FIA ​​World Rallycross Championship and FIA ​​European Rallycross Championship have several top-level drivers, such as two Rallycross world champions (Johan Kristoffersson and Timmy Hansen), three European champions and several national champions, as well as winners of titles from other disciplines.

Kristoffersson and the Hansen brothers, in the fight for the 2021 title

The World RX grid is spearheaded by three-time world champion (2017, 2018, 2020) Johan Kristoffersson, who has a firm goal of clinching a fourth crown with the help of Enzo Ide as a teammate. For the first time, he won’t be racing behind the wheel of a Volkswagen Polo and he will do so in the colors of the Audi S1, as a member of the KYB EKS JC team.

However, the Swede will face a tough opponent, 2019 world champion Timmy Hansen, who will compete with his younger brother Kevin in a Peugeot 208. Timmy has been a World RX stalwart since its inception in 2014.

Aside from the FIA ​​World Rallycross Championship champions, there are also other top international drivers to take into account. Finnish Niclas Grönholm joins forces with Hungarian Krisztian Szabo in a Hyundai i20, and Dutchman Kevin Abbring will try to shine at the wheel of the Renault Megane, especially after his Norwegian debut two years ago.

On the other hand, the entry list is completed by those drivers with the potential to surprise. The champion of the Euro RX Supercar (now RX1) for two consecutive seasons, Timur Timerzyanov, participates in the World Championship with the GRX Taneco team, and the German Timo Scheider, who achieved success in the German DTM Championship, participates with Münnich Motorsport. It will be the seventh time he has participated in this tournament and he will once again compete with the All-Inkl Motorsport team, at the wheel of the Seat Ibiza.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by FIA World Rallycross (@fiaworldrx)

Wide grid at the European Rallycross championship

Regarding the FIA ​​European Rallycross Championship, five of last season’s top ten finishers in Euro RX3 are back. Yury Belevskiy tops the list under team Volland Racing KFT. His goal is to get the trophy that was denied him in 2020, when no title was awarded for cancellation of events due to COVID-19. However, he will have to fight the threats of the Hungarian Gergely Marton and the Russian Marat Knyazev.

Series stalwarts Janno Ligur and Espen Isaksaetre join after a one-year absence, while Kasparas Navickas returns for the first time since 2017, when he took fourth place in the Super1600 category. Jan Černý rekindled his rallycross career last season after more than a decade away from rally, proving success in the FIA ​​European Rallycross Championship and taking eighth place in the Super1600 category. This 2021 is back and will participate at the wheel of the Skoda Citigo.

The mix between experience and youth characterizes this competition. Curiously, this year there are seven rookies, including Jiří Šusta, who will become the youngest rider in the history of the RX3 when he makes his debut in Catalonia, and Kobe Pauwels, just 16 years old and with experience in the world of Karting.

Coming soon, electric brand new championship RX2e drivers

The entry list for the FIA ​​RX2e Championship, the first ever electric rallycross championship of the FIA, will be released at a later date, but we can anticipate that big names have already signed up to compete.

Don’t miss the opportunity to see all these drivers live in high-level competitions on July 23 and 24 at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya! You can get your ticket from € 19.95 at this link: