RALLYCROSS HISTORY - CatalunyaRX FIA World Rallycross


historia-rallycross-barcelonarxRallycross was created by Robert Reed, who became the producer of ITV’s World of Sport program. The first event took place on the hill of Lydd on 4 February 1967, which quickly became a mass phenomenon and was closely watched on television on Saturday evening both on ITV and BBC who were distributing images of Rallycross at that time. The popularity of Rallycross was soon extended with the first event in Europe that took place in Elst (Netherlands) in 1969 and two years later it debuted in Scandinavia in Hedemora (Sweden).

The Championship

The FIA World of Rallycross presented by Monster Energy (World RX) was established in 2014 and in the first edition was composed of the following rounds: Portugal, Great Britain, Norway, Finland, Sweden, Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Turkey and Argentina.

The FIA World Rallycross was developed from the European Rallycross Championship FIA (Euro RX), which finds its roots in the European Trophy 1973, which has became full FIA championship since 1976.

Barcelona has replaced Finland this 2015 and in the calendar a new race has been added, which will be held at Hockenheim in early May.