Davy Jeanney Canada gets his second victory in the FIA ​​World Rallycross Championship

Frenchman Davy Jeanney has won the World RX of Canada, round seven of the FIA World Rallycross Championship. Marklund Motorsport team-mates Topi Heikkinen and Tanner Foust finished second and third respectively in a pair of Volkswagen Polo RX Supercars.

In a twist of fate, Championship leader Petter Solberg failed to qualify for the final for the first time since rallycross became an FIA World Championship at the start of 2014.

“After my victory in Buxtehude [Germany], I told myself that I had to do it again – I just didn’t expect it to happen so quickly,” grinned Jeanney, who is also awarded the coveted Monster Energy Super Charge Award for his rapid start off the line. “Even though I won, it was a really difficult weekend for me: I couldn’t find a good rhythm during the heats and I wasn’t happy with my starts of the line. For the semi-final, I improved my times each lap and my confidence grew.

Petter Solberg continues to lead the Championship classification with 176 points. Andreas Bakkerud is the second driver with 130 points. After the victory, Jeanney is now 5th with only 7 ponits less than Timmy Hansen (fourth) and 9 ahead Johan Kristoffersson (third).

The 8th Round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship will be held in the Norwegian track of Lanke on the weekend of 21st August.