What's the rallycross? | World Rallycross Championship | 22-23 july 2021


What’s rallycross?

Rallycross is a form of sprint style automobile racing, held on a mixed-surface —tarmac and dirt— racing circuit. Competitions can be watched entirely from the stands, since they take place on short tracks. High-performance compact cars with speeds that reach beyond 600 hp, the world’s highest acceleration, even greater than a Formula 1.

 The creator of Rallycross was Robert Reed, who was the producer of ITV’s World of Sport program. The first event took place on Lydden Hill (Today World RX English Sleeve Circuit) on February 4, 1967 and quickly became a Saturday afternoon classic in the UK. So much so that soon ITV and BBC distributed the images of the Rallycross.
The popularity of this spectacular modality soon spread with the celebration of the first event on the European continent that took place in Elst (Holland) in 1969, and was expanded with the debut of Rallycross in Sweden two years later.

The Championship

The FIA World Rallycross was developed from the European Rallycross Championship of the FIA (Euro RX), which finds its roots in the European Trophy of 1973, and which became a permanent championship of the FIA from 1976.

The FIA ​​World Rallycross Championship was established in 2014. Its eighth season consists of a total of 7 events: (R1) World RX of Catalunya, (R2) World RX of Germany, (R3) World RX of Sweden, (R4) World RX of Lohéac, (R5) World RX of Latvia, (R6) SPA World RX of Benelux (tbc), (R7) World RX of Norway, (R8) World RX of Montealegre.


The FIA ​​World Championship has its greatest esponent in Rallycross Supercars category. The FIA ​​European Championship has titles separated by drivers in the following categories: RX1, EuroRX3 y RX2e:

RX1: Where the big stars like Petter Solberg, Jacques Villeneuve, Tanner oust or Mattias Ekstrom compete. It is a utilitarian production adapted to the most spectacular race with turbo engines, two-liter with 600 bhp and allows the greatest possible acceleration of 0-60 mph (100 km / h) in 1.9 seconds (more than a Formula 1).

EuroRX3: front-wheel drive vehicles that use the 1600cc engines, where many drivers Supercar today began to emerge as Liam Doran, Timerzyanov, Bakkerud and Nitiss.

RX2e: It is the first ever electric FIA rallycross championship and is set to electrify the international rallycross landscape when it joins the FIA ​​World Rallycross Championship card in 2021.


The competition

Each event consists of several training sessions that are open to the public, four qualifying heats, two semi-finals and a final. There are four qualifying heats with a maximum of five cars competing in four heats.

Q1: The starting positions of the races are determined by drawing lots.

Q2: The starting order is determined by the time of each driver in Q1. The same format is used to Q4.

All qualifying heats will be timed and the fastest driver in each series will be rewarded with 50 points (the second 45, third 42, fourth: 40, the fifth, 39, 38 the sixth and so on.

After qualifying, there will be an intermediate classification according to the total points of each pilot marked in the four series.

Semifinals: two sets of six cars each. The top three of each set qualify for the final. The semifinal is played on six laps including the Joker lap. In the semifinals the points won are valid to the classification of the World Championship.

Final: The top six riders compete in a six laps race including the Joker lap. The first three reach the podium. The winner of the final will be the winner of the event. The remaining drivers are classified according to the points achieved in the race.

The winner of the final will be the absolute winner of the RX event. The positions one through six will be classified according to the final results. The remaining riders are ranked according to the points scored during qualifying rounds and the different phases of the event.